Recharge

image

Early AM’s are becoming my best friend at the moment! On the plus side, it seems to be the time where I think of things to write about. I know God works in mysterious ways but come on!- I need my sleep!… I just know women will be crying out at the screen now, telling me to get used to it!- there will be many more AM calls once the baby arrives!

So as I awoke for my timely toilet stop in the early hours, I quickly checked my phone to see what time it was as I usually do- I count how many hours sleep I have left till I need to wake up!- don’t ask! I had purposely put it on charge before going to bed so I’d wake up with a fully charged phone in the morning.

As I climbed back into bed, I began to consider how much I have come to rely on my phone, and how i consciously make the time to put my phone on charge at night or even throughout the day to prevent me from the monotone bleep and flashing red battery alerting me that it’s about to go flat!

This got me thinking about my relationship with God. I haven fallen subject many a time to re-charging myself up on His word, prayer and spending time with him only when things are going pear-shaped or I feel I’ve hit rock bottom.

I imagined what it would be like if I consciously made the time in my day to plug in and charge myself up on his word, love, grace, mercy and spending time with my Father. If I carried my bible around as much as I did my charger  and phone or filled myself up on prayer and scripture before I got to rock bottom- just as I will charge my phone up throughout the day before my battery even changes to amber, I think I’d have been able to deal with things differerently.

I thought about how I do all these things with my phone out of prevention of; not being able to access the internet, be contactable, use my sat-nav (because unlike my husband I have absolutely no sense of direction!!), use my camera to capture memories, access emails and numerous other reasons. I rely so heavily on this device and I know what a big impact it has on my life, that I make it a priority in my day to leave the house prepared with a fully charged phone, lead and plug. It is rare that I get to the point where I am left with a flat phone.

I considered how different my life would be if I applied this same discipline to my relationship with God. If I charged myself up daily and consistently on his word and spent time in prayer so that I am prepared for whatever my day throws at me. What if I didn’t wait until I was running on empty and needed to re-charge, but plug into God’s love and let him fill my battery so I have the energy and enough battery life to get through my day and circumstances.

Or even, what my life would be like if I depended on Him as much as I do my phone and the many uses it has! If I fully grasped the concept and applied it to my life that I cannot live without Him. I have access to all his resources throughout the day and by tapping into them, I can be better prepared to deal with what comes my way because I’ve depended completely on Him.

This really challenged me and I hope it does for you. I’m not denying how useful phones are in this day and age- and I definitely wouldn’t be without mine. But perhaps if we applied as much reliability, care, attention and charging time we do for our phones as with our heavenly father- how different our lives would be.

I am pretty sure we would cope with; uncertainty, doubt, stress, fear, worry, trying new things etc. in a more peaceful way because we’ve charged up and prepared our attitudes, knowing who we put our faith and trust in- God. We’ve not waited until we feel all of the above- we’ve prepared ourselves daily so that when we face opposition, big decisions, high and low times- we are already fully charged- not running on empty, flashing our warning lights, just about to fall flat on our faces.

What if we also gave God as much time as we do our phones? It’s quite common now to glance over at anyone in a restaurant and you will most likely see them fixated on their phone- I’m even guilty of this! My phone gets A LOT of my attention! But I also give enough time for my phone to charge- I know if I pull the plug too soon I’m going to be stuck later because my phone doesn’t run effectively off half a charge.

How true for our walk with God? What if we allotted enough time- the time he deserves- to spend in his presence? Rather than just slotting in a quick 10 minutes out of our busy schedules or out of satisfying our mind knowing we’ve put some time aside for God- yep! I’m guilty of this too! It would be a challenge alright- and I’m sure I’ll come to find this even more true when our baby girl arrives- but what if?! Just imagine how different our relationship would be with Him!

On a Sunday I attend church and I fell we plug in, leave feeling fully charged and ready to face our week. However, even in my own life, I can almost physically see my battery draining as soon as I walk out of the doors! I go from 100% Green to Amber and then Red, sometimes before I’ve even reached Monday! In the week we become deflated- ready for another Sunday pick-me-up and it becomes a continuous cycle- or am I on my own there?… Yet I know that God is crying out for me to spend more time with him so I am prepared for the days when I feel like I’m running on a flat battery and so I can better understand his love. He promises that if we come to Him, He will lighten our burdens and he will give us rest- how awesome! But why do we do this as a last resort, trying to do everything in our own strength!

Matthew 11:28 says ‘Come to me all you who are weary and burdened and I will give you rest’

 Ephesians 3:14-21 ‘Paul’s Prayer for Spiritual Growth 

14 When I think of all this, I fall to my knees and pray to the Father,[a] 15 the Creator of everything in heaven and on earth.[b] 16 I pray that from his glorious, unlimited resources he will empower you with inner strength through his Spirit. 17 Then Christ will make his home in your hearts as you trust in him. Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong. 18 And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love is. 19 May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God.

20 Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think. 21 Glory to him in the church and in Christ Jesus through all generations forever and ever! Amen.’

If I reflect on the relationships in my life and those of others- often the less time we spend with someone, the less we are in tune with and know them. We need to spend time with people in order to know them intimately. Consider how the same applies to our relationship with God. He loves us, cares about us and genuinely wants to spend time with us! How awesome is that?! We have a God who actually wants to listen, help us, talk to and spend quality time with us on a 1:1 basis. How much do we crave spending quality time with the people we care about and yet life gets in the way and you can often feel you’re just not listened to or loved- well you have a God that will give you the time, does care and does love YOU.

So I am challenging not only myself, but for you also- to take time, and recharge with your Father. Spend time getting to know him, rely on him completely and see how your walk with Him changes.

3 thoughts on “Recharge

Leave a Reply

