‘I’m in love with a child I haven’t met’

23 weeks

 

The words: ‘I’m in love with a child I haven’t met’– flashed up on the advertisement of the Cow & Gate children’s label.

I thought of how true this is through what I’m experiencing in my pregnancy. Both Carl and I are totally in love with our little girl and we are so excited to meet her! We have tuned in to her patterns of movement and enjoy being entertained by the flinches and ripples she creates through my growing bump- its better entertainment than TV! We talk to her so she’ll recognise and be comforted by our familiar voices.

There are no words to describe how much we love this baby growing inside me -and we haven’t even met her yet- in person that is.

Already we love the blessing she is and has brought to our life, the overwhelming joy she brings us each day, the laughter and anticipation we experience as she responds with a succession of kicks! She’s helped me develop in confidence, grow in strength and opened our eyes wide to the world we live in as Carl and I consider the impact we can have to make it a better place for our children to grow up in. Carl and I have developed a capacity to love someone we’ve never met more than we ever thought was possible.

Yes, I’ve suffered nausea and pain in the early weeks and months- and I still have labour to endure yet! But this has prepared my body to house our baby, and because God created life- he knew that in order for her to grow well, I needed to go through temporary discomfort to get the blessing that God has prepared for me.

I remember so clearly when I saw the two blue lines appear on the pregnancy stick- we were pregnant! We decided to wait for a scan before sharing the news (other than family & a few close friends) but it was so difficult to keep secret! I felt like a can of fizzy pop bursting to explode. You see, we had something very special- we had good, exciting and joyful news that was life changing and we just had to share it! Even now, telling people about our expectant child is a complete joy and honour every time- Carl and I will take every opportunity to tell someone!

The Cow & Gate statement read: I’m in love with a child I haven’t met.’ I could totally relate to this in my own pregnancy and as I read it for a second time, I began thinking about how people often say ‘how you can love or believe in a God you can’t see?’

Consider this, have you ever talked to someone over the phone or heard a friend talk about someone and thought- I like them already?! And you haven’t even met them yet?

John 20:29

Then Jesus told him, “You believe because you have seen me. Blessed are those who believe without seeing me.”

If you look outside your window on a blustery day, you can’t see the wind but you know it’s there -you see and feel its effects so clearly in a swaying branch, sweeping of your hair or the rustle in the trees (you’d have to step outside for that last one!) For me and my experience, I don’t need to go into all the ins and outs of why I believe God exists and love him dearly- it’s simple. Just as it was simple and easy to love our child as soon as we knew she existed- a love with no limits, boundaries or consequences- the same is my love for God and more consistently is his love for me.

We can’t physically see God in human flesh but we can see and experience the blessings he showers over his children daily. When you open your heart to love God- just as we opened our heart wide for our daughter, you can experience love like you never imagined before- even though you haven’t met him- in person.

Not only can you experience your own life change but others lives too because of their love for God and his love for them. You can experience; a loving relationship, wanting to be better and a positive change from the inside out, his subtle (or sometimes not so subtle) nudges through the Holy Spirit to do what is right or follow an instruction, and so much more. His grace and abundant blessings are there for the taking! You will want to spend time in his presence, be it with others or alone, where you can get to know him better- just as we do with our Daughter. You will want to talk to him daily- just as he wants you to- and the more you do this, the more you will recognise his voice- just as our daughter will soon recognise ours.

1 Peter 1:8

You love him even though you have never seen him. Though you do not see him now, you trust him; and you rejoice with a glorious, inexpressible joy.

John 10:27

My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me.

You’ll want to tell everyone about Him just as we do with our Daughter, shouting from the rooftops about your God and how much you love him. You’ll want to tell anyone who will listen because it’s good news- and good news is too good not to share? Right?!

Loving God is just awesome! His love is unconditional and he wants you to experience overwhelming joy and shower you with the blessings he has stored up for you. Giving your heart to God and allowing Him to take front row seat in your life is the best decision you will make. Like in my pregnancy, there may be seasons when you go through pain and discomfort, but be assured that God has abundant blessings for you and whatever you’re going through right now is only temporary- your blessing is coming! God has named and given it a due due date!

Psalm 31:19-22 MSG

What a stack of blessing you have piled up for those who worship you, Ready and waiting for all who run to you to escape an unkind world.

 1 John 4:8

But anyone who does not love does not know God, for God is love.

When you discover who God is – he is love in fact- then you will begin to love him above everything else! You don’t need to see a physical body just as we don’t need to see our daughter first before we declare or even develop a love for her.

Remember, no matter how much you love him- he loves you even more. You are his son or daughter! He knitted you together in your mother’s womb and loved you before you were even born! How awesome is this! I was created with purpose and so too is our daughter.

Psalm 139:13-16 MSG

Oh yes, you shaped me first inside, then out; you formed me in my mother’s womb.

I thank you, High God—you’re breathtaking! Body and soul, I am marvelously made! I worship in adoration—what a creation!

You know me inside and out, you know every bone in my body; You know exactly how I was made, bit by bit, how I was sculpted from nothing into something. Like an open book, you watched me grow from conception to birth; all the stages of my life were spread out before you. The days of my life all prepared before I’d even lived one day.

Love can change you beyond who you ever imagined you could be- just as becoming a parent will change Carl and I. When you choose to love God- your heavenly father who loves you unconditionally without fail or condemnation- you can experience a new beginning and he will change your life- for the better! Just as our life is changing in a positive way as we await the arrival of our daughter, and then again once she arrives and grows into a young women- so too will yours as you choose to Love God and receive the love that he freely gives- ready for you to grab with both hands!

11 thoughts on “‘I’m in love with a child I haven’t met’

  1. Anne Protheroe says:

    Thank you Cheryl for allowing us to share your intimacy with the King of Kings and Lord of Lords and with your beautiful daughter. I feel so proud to see Him working in your life and developing your sensitivity, gentleness of spirit and humility. Set the world on fire for Him. You are such a blessing. May God continue to bless you allrichly . Xxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hannah lawton says:

    Cheryl, I love this! It is so well worded! Love when you have described about even though you can’t see God but we know he is there! I loved reading it!
    Was amazing
    Xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

