Into The Waves

waves

I’ve never kept a journal before. Instead, I tend to write things down as and when they happen in the hope that God may use the experience for me to write about, to comfort and encourage others.

As I searched through my phone the other day, I noticed something I’d quickly noted down while we were on a family holiday in Devon this Summer’ 2015.

I thought I’d type this up properly and share this with you- I remember this beautiful moment so vividly and pray that you’ll receive a sense of comfort in your own walk with God and the situation you’re in right now.

Into the waves

I walked into the ice cold waves of a secluded Devon bay, hand in hand with my husband. As we hesitantly approached the oncoming waves, butterflies stirred up inside me. My grip tightened and I starred into my husband’s eyes with fear and uncertainty. He looked lovingly into my eyes and smiled, ‘It’s ok babe’ and he held out his hand once more because I’d let go.

Meanwhile, my Dad stood on the beach behind us, capturing this moment on camera- encouraging me to take Carls hand and take a step out into the ocean.

I held on tight and we continued to walk in further, step by step.

This should have been a nice romantic stroll into the waves off the Devon coast, a bit of fun and quite a momentous occasion for us as Carl had never enjoyed swimming in the ocean, so we’d never been into the sea together. Except this was anything but fun, or not at first. We couldn’t see what was beneath our feet through the sandy water, all we could feel against our bare feet were hard, sharp rocks of all different sizes. – it hurt! And made it very difficult to keep our balance as we were simultaneously hit by forceful waves- perfect for surfing!

But you know, Carl, only moments earlier had taken these very steps with my brother. He’d dodged and overcome these very waves and stepped out into the depths until they’d reached a firm footing. He knew what lay before us and how I was feeling as I struggled to bear the hard rocks under my feet. I literally couldn’t keep my balance without gripping Carls hand tight, sometimes clinging onto his body for extra stability. The pain in my feet didn’t go away but I was able to withstand the force of the waves which aimed to knock me over and pull my feet from under me- swallowing a gulp of sea salt along the way! We eventually reached a place of soft sand beneath our feet. The waves still came, but I had Carl by my side and we were on a stable foundation to withstand them.

What am I saying? In that moment, I was reminded of how Jesus offers out his hand in the rough waters- the times of life which seem like we are hit by wave after wave, be it; a new adventure that seems daunting, stepping out into the unknown, or a place of hurt and struggle. Jesus has helped me through it all and continues to do so, just as my husband lovingly smiled at me, held me up and reassured me I was going to be alright. He knew I was in some pain- ‘It will get better’ (he kept telling me) ‘We’ll get to a sandy part soon where the sand is soft with a stable foundation for you to enjoy the waves.’ This is how Jesus has supported me and I believe he can for you. He’s there for you to cling on to and get you to your soft foundation for you to enjoy! Boy did I cling on when we had our miscarriage and lost our sweet baby- I hurt, my heart ached, I was in pain and could see no end to my sadness. But I am now in my soft, sandy place- where my heart is at peace, I can enjoy the waves that come and I am no longer walking on uneven footing- and even when I do, I know I have Jesus to hold me up!

My Dad, who stood behind us the whole time, reminded me of our Heavenly Father. He wants us to walk with Jesus and encourages us to take his hand because he’s placed Him in situations where He can understand what your going through; the pain, anxiety, uncertainty, sadness and everything else in-between. He’ll hold you up when things get rough, when you feel out of your depth, hit by wave after wave and on an uneven footing- just like he did for me.

Song: Faithful One

Faithful one, so unchanging

Ageless one, you’re my rock of peace

Lord of all I depend on you

I call out to you, again and again

I call out to you, again and again

You are my rock in times of trouble

You lift me up when I fall down

All through the storm

Your love is, the anchor

My hope is in You alone

 

Isaiah 41:10

 So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

 Psalm 18

The Lord is my rock, my fortress, and my savior; my God is my rock, in whom I find protection. He is my shield, the power that saves me, and my place of safety.

I called on the Lord, who is worthy of praise, and he saved me from my enemies…

But in my distress I cried out to the Lord; yes, I prayed to my God for help. He heard me from his sanctuary; my cry to him reached his ears. He reached down from heaven and rescued me; he drew me out of deep waters…

He rescued me from my powerful enemies, from those who hated me and were too strong for me.

They attacked me at a moment when I was in distress, but the Lord supported me.

He led me to a place of safety; he rescued me because he delights in me…

You light a lamp for me. The Lord, my God, lights up my darkness…

God’s way is perfect. All the Lord’s promises prove true. He is a shield for all who look to him for protection…

For who is God except the Lord? Who but our God is a solid rock? God arms me with strength, and he makes my way perfect.

He makes me as surefooted as a deer, enabling me to stand on mountain heights.

7 thoughts on “Into The Waves

  1. Anne Protheroe says:

    God has given you the ability to explain deep truths simply, for everyone to understand. Your deep love for Him and gentleness of spirit shine through and honour His Name..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

