Will you respond?

use-me

I awoke this morning with a beaming smile on my face!

Our sweet miracle is kicking more and more in recent days but this morning she made her presence known with a whole new level of kicking power!! She’s a mover alright!- gets it from her Dad!

Typically, as per most nights, just as I was about to go to sleep- she decided to wake up and have a good old wriggle around. Carl and I sat their giggling and talking away to my bump as we visibly saw her ripple from one side of my belly to the next- rapidly identifying which was her favourite spot.

I cannot explain the joy I felt last night and this morning! Not only does she move- but she responds as well! She’ll respond and react with a movement if I tap my belly, give her a gentle rub, when Carl places a listening ear intently on my tummy and when we call her name!  She responds! And we are so overwhelmed with joy when she does!

All morning, I smiled and reflected on how much I love our daughter and absolutely delight in these precious moments. How true must it be for our Heavenly Father when we respond to Him?

When he gives us a gentle nudge, a loving whisper and calls our name, to ‘GO’ to ‘MOVE’ (I often give this little one a gentle nudge when she wriggles her way under my rib cage!) – Do we respond? Or do we choose to ignore Him because we’re comfortable with where we are? Or what he’s asking of us is just that bit too uncomfortable?

There’s no better feeling I’ve experienced yet than when she responds to my voice or my gentle touch. How much must our father delight in us when we do the same? He knows who you are! He knows every hair on your head, calls you by name and has great plans for your life. So when he calls you to go somewhere, instructs you to do something- will you respond in faith? Or do you hope that the nudge you’ve felt, the voice you’ve heard, the conviction of the spirit you carry with you from that moment on will just disappear?

If he’s called you to do something- that’s your blessing! No one else’s- it’s what he’s got planned for you at that time. Will you ignore Him or respond and say ‘YES, thank you God!’ It may be daunting, it may not fit in with your plan, you may not like it at the time. But when you respond and obediently react to his calling- he delights in this and I believe that you will see your blessings come to pass. When we’ve said ‘YES’ to God, he’s never disappointed!

Is he asking you to forgive someone who hurt you? Tough one! Is he asking you to approach the unsightly person on the other table or on the streets? Will you listen and respond? Will you say yes? Or is your state of comfort or discomfort getting in the way?

When our little girl arrives, her response to us outside the womb is going to unimaginable and bring us joy in all its abundance! But as Carl and I embark upon the parenthood journey, we will delight when she listens and responds obediently to us, even when we ask her to do things she at first may find uncomfortable and challenging; join that club- it’s going to be good for your confidence, eat your vegetables- they will keep you healthy, why don’t you sit with that person on their own at lunch who you tell me is bullied- show them the love of Jesus.

Our prayer is that we as parents now and when she arrives, will consistently be intently listening and responding obediently to what God is calling us to do and delight in Him at all times.

At root, what God delights in about us is that we delight in him. 

Christianity.com

I’m not saying it’s easy- Carl and I have both felt like Gods asked us to do things, go places, speak to people in the past and we’ve ignored Him- responding in a negative and disobedient way. We can’t do that God! Why would you ask us to go there? I’ll speak to them another time! The next thing you ask us to do, we’ll do it- promise! Anyone with me there or is it just us that mess up?

We were uncomfortable with what we felt we were being asked to do, or perhaps too comfortable with where we were in our journey. Excuse after excuse- we sounded like a broken record. Maybe we’ll be ready for this in a few years time! We wanted to do these things first- Once we’ve gone here and done this, then we’ll consider what God’s asking of us.

There are many times in our lives when God calls us to go somewhere or do something. He wants us to step out in faith in a situation that seems extremely ridiculous so He can amaze us with what He does. Most of the time we miss out on these exciting opportunities because we are unwilling to move–or let Him move through us. When He asks us to move, He never asks us to go alone. He asks us to move because He wants to go somewhere and He wants us to move with Him! CBN.com

 Psalms 32:8-10

I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will guide you with My eye.

So I ask you and I challenge myself going forward? Will you respond? When he calls, will you go? Whatever that means for you and your life- you’ll know if he’s already been asking you and giving you that gentle, loving nudge. You don’t know what he’s got planned for you, you don’t know who he’s placing in your life that you are going to be the difference to, we don’t know why- but if we choose to trust, step out in faith and respond- God will do the rest and He will not disappoint!

He loves you and delights in your faithfulness! Delight in Him and Respond!

Psalm 147:11

The lord’s delight is in those who fear him, those who put their hope in his unfailing love

 Zephaniah 3:17

For the lord your God is living among you. He is a mighty savior. He will take delight in you with gladness. With his love he will calm all your fears

Proverbs 8:33

Listen to my instruction and be wise. Don’t ignore it.

(MSG version) So, my dear friends, listen carefully; those who embrace these my ways are most blessed…Blessed the man, blessed the woman, who listens to me, awake and ready for me each morning, alert and responsive as I start my day’s work.

When you find me, you find life, real life…

 

6 thoughts on “Will you respond?

  1. Tracey Wilson says:

    This is great Cheryl. Really spoke to me as it’s at a time whereas I’m saying ‘Yes’ to God!! Just confirmed that I’m doing the right thing. Xx

    Like

  2. Kathryn Roper says:

    Our little granddaughter is going to have such a lovely mummy and daddy. Very talented ones too. Very proud mum to hear how god is working through you and Carl. Beautifully written .love following your blogs Cheryl xx

    Like

  3. Ros Harrison says:

    Love this Cheryl what a great picture of response from child to parent and parent to child. God is so good, I love the nudges he gives awaiting a response from us…. Keep going girlie the blogs are great!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

