We’re not called to be alone

not called to be alone

 

Many hands make light work sound familiar? Generally, a common term used particularly when referring to any kind of team work.

We recently moved out of our one-bedroom flat and into a temporary home more suitable to welcome our baby into.

No matter how little possessions you think you have, when you begin to unpack, it’s only then you realise just how much you’ve collected over the years- mostly clothes in my case!

Fortunately, we had incredibly helpful friends and family who had willingly given their time to help us pack before hand, load and un-load possessions from our removal van and into our new home.

Without their help, it would have taken us a full week rather than just one day before to organise everything into boxes. It would have taken well over a full day to make journeys between the two residences; loading and unloading the van, and there’s no way Carl and I could have lifted the heavy furniture, washing machine and sofa! Let alone plumb in the washer and assemble the bed! Fortunately, my Dad is a plumber and DIY savvy as both Carl and I are complete DIY dummies!

Having even just a few hands made the move all the less stressful, speedier and actually enjoyable! We were able to embrace the experience and share in the excitement of new beginnings rather than feeling overwhelmed with the numerous boxes and furniture we had accumulated!

We each found a role that suited us best! My good friend helped me organise our possessions into boxes in preparation for the move the day before. Moving day, another good friend and I carried the lighter bags and packed all the loose items into boxes. The boys shared the lifting of heavy loads and strenuous tasks due to my ‘pregnant condition!’- boy is that frustrating when you’re used to being so independent.

We all worked together as a team, helping the other get back up if we fell, guiding the van backwards just the right distance as the driver couldn’t see how far to reverse. When one struggled to lift something he underestimated the weight of- someone came to their aid. It was all very quick and efficiently done! By lunch time we were all relaxing in the local carvery enjoying a well earned meal! Maybe we should start up a removal business?!

What am I getting at?

In life, we will have heavy loads to bear and trials to face- the bible tells us this.

 “I’ve told you all this so that trusting me, you will be unshakable and assured, deeply at peace. In this godless world you will continue to experience difficulties. But take heart! I’ve conquered the world.” John 16:33

Things can seem overwhelming and daunting. Sometimes even exciting moments and ventures can be quickly dampened causing you to feel overwhelmed if there’s no one to help or share the occasion with you.

We all find ourselves in situations throughout life where the prospect of something is so daunting and impossible. Perhaps you feel fragile like many of my boxes in transit and at breaking point because of the thing/situation your facing right now? Let me share with you, that from my experience, when we deal with it on our own, it can take tens times longer to complete, seem worse than it is, and almost be unbearable to cope with than if we accepted help from others.

The awesome news is; we can call on our Father for help, call out for Him to lighten our load when we feel overwhelmed and just about to crumble! This should be our first reaction not last resort! Perhaps you are so independent though like me, that you have almost become too stubborn to ask for help? You are determined to do it all on your own because that way you’re in control- I’ll do everything in my own strength thank you very much until I’ve worn myself into the ground!

“Come to me, all of you who are tired and have heavy loads, and I will give you rest. Accept my teachings and learn from me, because I am gentle and humble in spirit, and you will find rest for your lives. The burden that I ask you to accept is easy; the load I give you to carry is light.” Matthew 11:28-30

When our marriage was literally at breaking point, I refused at first to allow others to help. We either fix it on our own or not at all, was my attitude in the end. Long story short, we had gotten in a real mess and is a blog for another time really- but allow me to just share this with you. When we eventually surrendered to God and asked for His help- our answer to prayer initially, was to accept help from our Pastor.

‘I’m not opening up to our Pastor!’ I repeated stubbornly! – ‘She’ll find out everything, she can’t help us, we’re beyond help. I’m not going to counselling, that’s not me!’

I was so stubborn and these were all excuses! I was asking for help from God but ignoring the answer he had clearly placed in front of us. I don’t really know what I was expecting- maybe a quick fix- but it definitely wasn’t counselling sessions, let alone with the Pastor of our church.

When we eventually accepted counselling sessions off our Pastor, our marriage began to heal; slowly, but heal none the less- and that was all we wanted! We were encouraged on the days where it just felt too much like hard work, given goals to reach, loved on and listened to when the vision ahead just seemed like a battlefield- one we didn’t feel we could win.

2 years on and we are stronger than ever! I thank God that he answered our prayers in His way- not ours, using our wonderful Pastor as a vessel for God to heal our marriage.

Sometimes Gods answer to your prayers is the people He places around you at the right time to help. He knows just what you need, but are you willing to accept the help? Even if it means allowing others to step in, instead of you controlling everything and being so independent?

 The LORD God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper suitable for him.” Genesis 2:18

They will help share and lighten the load- just like the lifting of our heavy furniture! It almost felt weightless to the guys lifting it. You can enjoy the ride! No matter how difficult it may be- when others are there to cheer you on and encourage you to stay strong and steadfast in Him! Share in your excitement and vision for the potential in your future! They will help guide you, look out for you, come to your aid in your times of need.

3 thoughts on “We’re not called to be alone

  1. Ros Harrison says:

    Thanks Cheryl your personal stories are so honest, really speak into people’s lives, this blog really is going to touch many, sure of it! Be blessed X

    Like

Leave a Reply

