I didn’t expect her to be so BIG

Cheryl and Carl-0084

I remember the moment she arrived- 8lbs 7 she was! I’ll spare you the details of my labour, but lets just say this- I defiantly found her difficult to push out! I recall the midwife trying to console me as I adamantly said afterwards that I would never have another baby due to the birth, ‘she wouldn’t have been so hard to push out had she not been so big.’

Irrespective of her birth weight though, from the moment we found out we were pregnant, she’s just been a total blessing that keeps on blessing. When she arrived we didn’t anticipate or expect the big impact she’d have on our life.

I’m not talking about the needs baby’s have and how that can be quite a lot to get used to in the beginning; the sleepless nights, constant changing and feeding, adjustment to your social life etc. All of those, and more- we expected and were prepared for.

But holding her, being in her presence, seeing this face we’d longed to see- we didn’t expect that impact to be so big. Our hearts stretched to a new level; bursting with love, joy and happiness. Our attitudes shifted from self to totally tuning into her needs and putting ours last. Our prayers of thanksgiving grew to a new level; gratitude and answered prayer for this beautiful baby girl we now held in our arms.

Her arrival has drawn family and friends closer together; uniting and building broken relationships. Being in her sheer presence, having a little cuddle and seeing her smile warms the hardest heart; dries a tear, helps heal the broken heart, comforts the anxious, lights and lifts the weary, brings purpose to the lost. She exudes this happy and contented demeanor, healing and restoring without even realising it.

She’s a huge blessing that just keeps on blessing those around her. Her impact and the knock on effect of blessings didn’t just stop once she arrived. They still keep on coming as she’s flourishing. Carl and I see how big of an impact she has on our lives and those around her daily, we constantly pray for protection, confidence, courage and a heart for people over her life- thanking God for this little person He’s blessed us with.

As I gaze into the eyes of our precious girl, this little person who is the biggest blessing to us- I’m reminded of how God blesses you and I.

Why do we live with a limit on our expectation for the ways in which God can bless us? How often are we so surprised when we’re blessed beyond our wildest dreams-we just didn’t expect them to be so big! We seem to place limits on a limitless God- and I am so guilty of this. We convince ourselves, explaining away the reasons why we don’t deserve that big blessing, why logistically it’s not even possible and in doing so, pray empty prayers. Prayers that are limited in their vision; prayers that limit and almost put a cap on our faith to actually believe God can answer them- and bless us with an even bigger answer than we could imagine. Anyone else do that, or just me? I wonder if we would dare to dream big dreams and actually ask for them, if we lived with an expectation that God can pour out big blessings- just a thought.

Ephesians 3:20-21 (MSG)

God can do anything, you know—far more than you could ever imagine or guess or request in your wildest dreams! He does it not by pushing us around but by working within us, his Spirit deeply and gently within us.

Well, I can stand here today and say that I have had my socks blessed off by God!  Many times over at that. Don’t hear me wrong- I’ve been in seasons of drought; where I’ve felt like God hasn’t heard me; where I’ve not received the blessing I wanted, where I’ve convinced myself I’m not deserving of His love or blessings and so I don’t even dare to ask for a miracle or for a dream to come to fruition.

But the blessings I have received have been far beyond my expectations; the healing of my marriage, my husband becoming a Christian, trustworthy friends, being healed of an eating disorder, the healing of my heart and strength to go on after losing a baby, and now- the beautiful blessing of our daughter Ava Joy.

I encourage you today; don’t be surprised by the BIG blessings God has for you!

Don’t put a limit on what God can do for you. His love is without limits, so why would he limit the blessings he wants to pour out on you. He knows the right time, what you need and simply because He’s the good father that He is- you’ll find He’ll bless you even further- treating you to that nice little something extra when you least expect it.

So keep praising, keep praying- no matter what season your in. Pray big prayers, lifting that cap you’ve placed over your vision, your dream, your need right now. Pray beyond your own expectations and the limits you place on yourself- believing that He can deliver BIG! I believe that what might seem impossible to you is possible to Him. Because He is greater, His love for you is greater than your capacity to love yourself or others, and He is able!

Jeremiah 32:27, “I am the LORD, the God of all the peoples of the world. Is anything too hard for me?” (NLT)

 

Rick Warren.

‘Never let an impossible situation intimidate you. Let it motivate you to pray more, believe more, trust more, experience more, learn more, and grow more. Faith always works in the realm of the impossible.’

 

 

One thought on “I didn’t expect her to be so BIG

Leave a Reply

